Vertical

I breathe and I feel my heart skips a beat.

My lungs catch and the world stops…

I am me, but I am small.

For something so small, do I matter?

My heartache and sorrow and pain

boils in my stomach.

I wrap my arms around myself

to keep me

from falling into a million pieces.

I’m really good at diversion…

Most of the time the truth remains locked

inside a chest buried deep in my mind.

I remain afraid to unlock it,

because I don’t know how much I can handle.

My thoughts run about, twisting and turning until there is

a constant storm swirling,

and I don’t know which was is up.

Leave a Reply

